top of page

'Turn of the Tide' plus 3 exhibitions

2019 has started pretty much the same way as 2018 ended - being crazy busy with design work with little time for painting. I have told myself that this year will be better than last on the painting front however... being lucky enough to work for myself means that I should really have fewer excuses not to paint.

I am taking part in the Needham Market Easter exhibition next weekend - this will be my seventh year in a row. I love doing this one as it allows me to exhibit paintings, framed prints, unframed prints and greetings cards - something which none of the others do (apart from Art of the Prom - but that's a different beast altogether!) The variety of types of art makes the Needham one a great exhibition to visit as a viewer too as there's something affordable for everyone.

As I sold all three canvases at last year's exhibition I decided last month that it would be a good opportunity to force myself away from the computer for a while and do a new painting (yay!) I obviously love the sea (my gallery page will prove that!) and I decided to paint the ocean from a new angle - an aerial view. I used oil as I knew I'd need to keep re-visiting it over several days, but also because of the rich blue-y turquoise-y colours that you can mix with oil. Whenever I've seen the sea from above (in photos / nature documentaries) I'm always blown away by the amazing colours that exist just below the surface along the coastline, which you don't see at ground level. I thought this painting would be a nice experiment if nothing else so am fairly happy with how it's turned out. I have titled it 'Turn of the Tide' - drawing attention to the contrast between the bright white of the froth breaking on the beach and the smooth terracotta sand.

I will certainly explore the aerial angle in future paintings... if I find a reference picture that I feel I could make work!

Turn of the Tide

I shall also be taking part in the Ipswich Lions exhibition in Sproughton over the late May Bank Holiday weekend next month - a show which I haven't done since 2013! Again, this one allows for a combination of prints and originals so I have a bit more freedom in what I choose to exhibit.

This year will be the 40th Tostock Art Show and my second consecutive year exhibiting. I have also provided the design work for the posters again this year. This exhibition only allows for original work so I will have to be a bit more selective in what I choose to take!

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page