top of page

Art on the Prom 2016


Yesterday, Richard and I were up at 6am and drove down to Felixstowe to set up nice and early. It’s always a bit of a faff setting up as there’s so many bits and pieces to do, but I was was happy with how the stand looked once we were done. Luckily, the rain stayed away, but the wind caused a few issues. Every gust that caught the fence made it look as though the whole thing was going to collapse! Fortunately, we kept a close eye on everything and nothing got damaged… which is more than I can say for a few others exhibiting their displays on tables… Just glad I didn’t have any glass on show…

I ended up having mixed feelings about Art on the Prom by the end of the day this year. I took less than half the money I did last year, although sold more prints than I have done on a single day before, as well as loads of cards. I had framed a glossy poster print of ‘Canopy’, which was something I hadn’t done before, and this sold half way through the day. It just goes to show that plenty of people are more than happy to have a copy of an original if it means owning a piece of art at a more affordable price. I will definitely think about doing that kind of thing again in the future.

Over all however, I was quite disappointed to be honest - I had hoped to do better. Having said that, I am cautious to never be too optimistic and the pleasure of seeing so many friends and family certainly meant I didn’t regret doing it. As usual, I had lots of interest, and lots of people helped themselves to business cards. Plus, it’s always nice to have a day by the beach!

At this moment in time I feel like taking a break from doing it next year would be a good idea. It takes a long time to prepare and and an awful lot of effort to bring everything together on the day. Apart from that it obviously costs a fair bit of money to bring everything together, and when it doesn’t go well on the day, it feels rather deflating! Oh well, I don’t have to make that decision now, there’s the next exhibition to look forward to in November…!

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page