top of page

Exhibition this weekend... and other big news...!

This weekend will be my 2nd time exhibiting at the Stowmarket Lions Art Show, being held at the impressive John Peel Centre in Stowmarket. The Preview Night takes place on Friday 3rd March and is then open to the public on Saturday 4th 10am - 5pm and Sunday 5th 10am - 2pm. Admission is £1 (under 16s free).

It's been a few years since I did this exhibition (I took part in the inaugural show a few years ago) and I had been reluctant to take part again after being unhappy about the positioning of my canvases and the reaction of certain individuals when I tried to give constructive critical feedback! I have decided therefore to exhibit 3 framed prints instead of originals this time. I figure the price range may be beneficial to anyone looking to buy and I won't be so worried about my work getting damaged! To be honest, I think the issues I reported last time were down to the fact that it was the first show they'd done there - I'm sure a few years on things are better organised :) My father-in-law has kindly agreed to take the pictures down to the Centre on Friday afternoon as I will be at work. The 3 prints I will be exhibiting are 'The White Wood', 'Flare' and 'Golden Tops'.

I sold the first of this style of framed prints at last year's Art on the Prom so am hoping there is interest in these new ones at the weekend. I know better than to get my hopes up though, so will just have to wait and see! I think Richard and I will pop along on Saturday afternoon... as we'll be babysitting our niece just round the corner afterwards!

In other news...

You may (or may not) know that I currently work full-time as a Studio Manager at a design agency in Ipswich. Any painting I have done has been at weekends, usually in the Spring and Summer when there are more hours of natural light. However, 2 weeks ago I handed in my notice and will be making a leap into the world of full-time freelance design! It's less than 2 weeks until I leave now and whilst I am obviously nervous of the lack of a regular pay packet, I am super excited about the challenge of working for myself. I have had an incredible amount of support from friends and family in the course of making this decision and I am now very much looking forward to the future. I am hoping too that by being my own boss, I will be able to make more time for painting... and not just at weekends :)

Wish me luck!

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page