top of page

A successful weekend!


As mentioned in my previous post, this weekend was the 10th anniversary of the 13th Ipswich Sea Scout Group Art Exhibition. This was (I think!) my 5th year taking part in this particular event, and once again Richard and I went along to the Preview Night. This was held on Friday evening as usual and had more people attend than ever before. In fact, when I went to collect my unsold artwork earlier this afternoon they were still counting up the total cost of the sales from the weekend - it sounds like it may well have been their most successful art exhibition yet! I will wait for them to post the total amount on their facebook page, but they certainly seemed quite happy this afternoon :)

Speaking of happy, I was very pleased with where the organisers had positioned my 3 paintings this year. They were up high, and right in front of you when you walked into the hall :) As they were all fairly large paintings, it benefited them being viewed from further away in the first instance, also making a nice colourful beginning to the start of the walk around the hall... if I do say so myself...

As usual, there was all sorts of original artwork on display. The great thing about this exhibition is that all art on show is original - no prints. There were a few large abstract pieces, plenty of very small detailed pieces, and everything in between. I particularly like the landscapes and baby elephant painting by Stefanie Hayes (a photo of which is on my exhibitions page here). I was very tempted to buy one of her landscapes but as you can imagine, our walls are already pretty full!

We walked around the hall, looking at everything on display. By the time we had gone round once the exhibition had been officially opened only half an hour. I was obviously keen to see if there was a 'red dot' on any of my canvases, as that's the thing every artist wants to see on their paintings as these events. I always assume that I won't sell anything as I won't then be disappointed if I don't... but I was thrilled to see not one, but TWO red dots!! It was 'Flare' and 'Golden Tops' that had sold. I was told that one lady had bought both, and had regretted not buying 'Canopy' last year. I have no idea who she is, but am flattered that she had remembered my work from the previous year's exhibition. I hope she enjoys having her two new paintings on her wall, and I am more than happy to bring 'The Crest' back home this afternoon to put back on the wall in our bedroom!

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page