top of page

New painting - "The Crest"


The Crest

For those of you that follow me on Facebook (www.facebook.com/SarahJohnsonArt) you will have seen that I started off this weekend with a hand 'injury'. I had a day off work on Friday and Richard I went for a lovely long walk in a nearby wood. Unfortunately there were A LOT of mosquitoes around, and one of them decided to have a good ol' nibble of my main painting finger. It swelled up nicely yesterday and made painting a bit of a challenge, but I was determined to persevere and do what I could! In the end, I actually ended up painting all day yesterday (with a few breaks in between to apply another layer of bite cream), and have spent this afternoon finishing it off. The result is the above - "The Crest".

The painting is oil on canvas - 30x24in (76x61cm). I haven't actually used oil for a while, but was excited to use this medium again. I knew that if I put off painting due to my 'injury' I would be struggling to ensure it was dry before Art on the Prom - which is only 5 weeks away! Argh!

I have worked out that I probably still need to fit in another couple of new paintings before Art on the Prom on Sunday 4th September, but will also plan to get a fresh batch of greetings cards printed too. Not sure what to do about adding to the set of prints I already have.... a decision yet to be made!

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page