top of page

"Cascade"


With just over 3 weeks to go until Art on the Prom I have pretty much ruled out making any plans for the weekends this month, apart from painting. With "Reach for the Summit" being my only new painting this year (up until last weekend which I'll get onto in a minute), I knew that having stupidly left it this late I would have to make up for lost time!

Last weekend, I painted "Cascade" (oil on canvas, 40x30in). Having finished it on Monday, and been busy every other evening this week, today is the first chance I have had to photograph it! As it's oil, it's also still a bit wet in places so I have not wanted to move it around too much. Anyway, I have now photographed it, as you can see below. This painting was a bit of a challenge as I have obviously not been in the swing of it too much recently. The canvas is quite large, and the subject matter quite different to anything I have painted before. There was a low point on Sunday afternoon when it really wasn't going very well and I was worried that my weekend was going to have been wasted. As I often get those 'low' moments during a painting, I knew that I just needed to walk away for a few minutes, have a cup of tea and a ginger biscuit, and then just get on with it. Fortunately that break was just what I needed and I managed to get through the rest of the day feeling much better about the direction the painting was going in. I ended up finishing it after work on Monday night and have decided that I actually quite like it now that it's done!

I have another painting lined up to do this weekend (slightly smaller, and in acrylics not oil), although I'll be starting it quite late in the day. I have few plans next week in the evenings however, so I can finish it in an evening if I can't get it all done tomorrow.

Speaking of Art on the Prom, I had all my promotional leaflets and posters come through the post this week. I shall be on Stand 55... hope to see you there!

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page